Alaska Medicaid/CHIP Programs

‹ Return to Map
  • Alaska AIDS Drug Assistance Program

    The AIDS Drug Assistance Program (ADAP) provides FDA approved HIV-related prescription drugs to underinsured and uninsured individuals living with HIV/AIDS.

  • Chronic and Acute Medical Assistance (CAMA)

    The Chronic & Acute Medical Assistance (CAMA) program is a state funded program designed to help needy Alaskans who have specific illnesses get the medical care they need to manage those illnesses. It is a program primarily for people age 21 through 64 who do not qualify for Medicaid benefits, have very little income, and have inadequate or no health insurance.

  • Denali Kidcare

    Denali KidCare is a State of Alaska program to ensure that children and teens of both working and non-working families can have the health insurance they need. Denali KidCare provides excellent health insurance coverage for children and teens through age 18, and for pregnant women who meet income guidelines.

  • Medicaid

    Medicaid is an "entitlement program" created by the federal government, but administered by the state, to provide payment for medical services for low-income citizens. People qualify for Medicaid by meeting federal income and asset standards and by fitting into a specified eligibility. Under federal rules, DHSS has authority to limit services as long as the services provided are adequate in "amount, duration, and scope" to satisfy the recipient's medical needs.